Arts & Crafts · Homeschool is Cool!

Christmas DIY: Glittery Christmas Tree

Inspired by of the four doors we have in our tiny abode, I decided to make another Christmas tree decor for the other two. But this time, I asked my two angels to make one each.

The materials we used are: green-colored drawing papers, tempera paints (we only have red, blue and yellow), craft sheet paper, glitter, colored pen, clear glue, scissors.

I cut the shape of the trees while I asked the kids to mix the paints to the colors they want to use. With this, Kuya Lucas gets to review how primary colors are mixed to get secondary ones, and Lewis gets to learn from Kuya (such a curious one, he is!).

The cut out green colored paper
The cut out green colored paper

After cutting and while waiting, I drew swirl lines as the wire for the Christmas lights.

When all preparations were done, I asked them to put on the lights using their fingers.

Thumb Lights
Thumb Lights

While they tap their fingers to create the Christmas lights, I shaped the craft sheet to stars, hearts, crescents and circles which we  glued on the tips of the trees after.

stars, hearts, moons & circles
stars, hearts, moons & circles

We then glittered the trees! This was fun and messy at the same time 🙂

Glittery tree!
Glittery tree!

And then we let them dry for at most an hour and we hang them on our two doors.

The Finished Products
The Finished Products

Leave a comment