for Foodies

Leche Flan: A Sweet Filipino Dessert With A Story

Literally translated to milk flan and maybe internationally known as creme caramel, this dessert is a taste of home for most Filipinos. When I was younger, in our humble abode it was served not as a dessert after an ordinary meal. But prepared with gusto along with menudo, escabeche and lechon manok. It was in every fiesta or anniversary or graduation.

For me? It was what I look forward to on my birthday. I wanted it more than my birthday cake. For me, it’s a taste of love.

On the 19th day of the ninth month every year, I would wake up to the sweet smell of egg and milk concoction. Ate Belen had already occupied our kitchen, beating and mixing and pouring what to me was a golden syrup into an oval metal-like mold. She has quite a few llaneras in front of her and a big cooking pot where to steam them. I would giddily run around the house and try to compose my joyful soul until 3 PM, when my party starts. I’d bathe, change to my birthday dress, eat, watch TV, go outside and remind my friends to come at three, all dressed up in their Sunday’s bests. But I would remember, every now and then, visiting the kitchen and looking over Ate Belen’s shoulders on top of a chair while she and Mama checks on the flans, poking them with a toothpick to know if they’re ready to be out of the steam. And every time the flans are transferred to their proper containers, I would wait and taste the melted white sugar now turned brown that’s left in the llanera. And then I know it’s time for my party to start.

So I believe that is why my most favorite dessert is leche flan and how from it I got my sweet tooth.

Trying to continue my personal tradition, I’m making them on my children’s birthdays starting this year. My kids love it too and I’m so glad they do!

I don’t remember how Ate Belen made her leche flan. But I used Panlasang Pinoy’s Leche Flan recipe to make mine. I do not mind if you head on over to their site and check it out but I will post it below. Panlasang Pinoy has helped me with a lot of recipes that I have no idea how to cook.

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 30 to 35 minutes
Serves: Three to four llaneras

Ingredients:
* 10 pieces raw eggs (you’ll only need the yolks)
* 1 small can of condensed milk
* 1 cup of evaporated milk (which I prefer, but you could also use fresh milk)
* 1 cup of granulated sugar
* 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Instructions:
1 – Separate the yolks from the whites. Here is a YouTube video of how I separate them. You may discard the whites but I keep them aside and make an omelette after.
2 – Beat all the yolks.
3 – Add the condensed milk, slowly.
4 – When the yolks and condensed milk are thoroughly mixed, you can add the fresh milk and vanilla extract. Again, mix them well. Set aside. (I have a tip below before doing step 5.)
5 – In a mold, put in the granulated sugar and heat it up on a slow fire. I suggest you slowly move the flan around the fire so the liquified sugar or caramel covers the whole base of the mold.
6 – Set aside the mold and wait for the caramel to harden (about five minutes) before pouring the mixture.
7 – Steam the mixture for 30 to 35 minutes. (This is the time when Ate Belen then checks the suppleness of the leche with a toothpick. I do it too!)
8 – When it’s cooked, take the llanera out of the steamer and set it aside to cool for about five minutes before transferring to a container. Then refrigerate!
9 – Best served when cold.

This may or may not be a tip but I do cover my llanera while it is being steamed with a cut out aluminum foil. I have seen others do not. I do it to avoid any water dripping in my flan.

Another tip (or not): Before doing step 5, I strain the mixture two times. Just trying to avoid some lumps.

Here is a picture of very simple and intimate birthday dinner of our 9 year old. All these is all he wanted, and the RC toy.

simple birthday dinner with spaghetti, fried chicken and leche flan
All homemade with love – spaghetti, fried chicken and leche flan

One thought on “Leche Flan: A Sweet Filipino Dessert With A Story

Leave a comment